Table Years (paper time pt 2)

Still printing, cutting, embellishing away.  I am so happy to have this little project done.  It has been on my TO DO list for nearly a year.  I knew I wanted our table numbers for assigned guest seating not to be just functional. I wanted them to be a little fun, and represent “us.”

The years of our lives…

table numbers years 1

With bonus factoids 🙂

table numbers years 2

An easy enough project, inspired by other pictures I’ve seen with actual table numbers to represent the couple’s age at that point (e.g., table 1 – the bride and groom at 1 year old).

But when it takes you 5 decades of living to find your mate, years just seemed a better choice for us. Besides, we selected years that represented milestones in our lives (born, first day of school, graduations, etc.).

The hardest and most time consuming part of this project was selecting just a few photos to represent our life up to the point we met and fell in love (awww).  We spent an evening down memory lane, and made a deal that each would select their own.  

table numbers years 3

The HOW TO:

I had purchased Tolsby frames from the classifieds for about $1 each.  These frames are perfect for this project in that they are two sided -so two pictures (one bride, one groom) per frame.

They were grey/silver, but I painted them with texture spray paint (Krylon Stone) and added a little sparkly with some black glitter while the paint was still wet.  To protect the texture and paint, I used a clear high gloss acrylic sealer.

I measured the inside frame size (4″x6″) and created text boxes in Pages (or any word processing program), scanned the photos into my iMac, and typed the text I wanted (see below). I didn’t worry about the photos fitting exactly in the box since they would but cut down to size once printed anyway.  I just made sure the photo was centered and the text wasn’t too near the edge to keep the frame from covering it.

blog table years imac

My groom loves trivia. So including little historical “factoids” was a nod to him.  I am a Denver Bronco/NFL junkie and like movies.  He has hockey in his bones and is a music aficionado. Hence, the factoids chosen. [And yes I made sure to include the years in which our teams won their respective championships–woohoo!]

I printed on ivory medium weight card stock and just cut them out old school with scissors on the lines.  The edges don’t have to be perfect since the frame covers them.

To make the table number “year” readily visible for our guests, I cut card stock the width of the overall frame, hand punched the corners, added the glitter 3D stickers for the year, and cut out notches so it could slide into the top.

table numbers years 4table numbers years 5table numbers years 6table numbers years 7table numbers years 8

So, we now have table numbers years so our guests will be able to find their seat. I think our family and friends will enjoy our goofy pics too.

I mean, can you get more 1960’s than this?

2014-01-17 23.26.42

That’s me at 2 years old on the right.  Loving my mom’s hair 🙂

And this is the man I am marrying–What a cutie!

table numbers photos 9

 

 

Leave a Reply

