Shoes, Strass & Pearls

So I have never been into shoes.  I care if the color matches what I’m wearing and if they are comfortable. But, I saw another crafter strass her shoes in pearls and I said “want.”

No way am I wearing 4-5″ heels on the big day, but I didn’t want flats either (I’m only 5’3″).  I specifically looked for one inch heels, but had trouble finding them until I hit the girls section of the department store (subtract two from your woman’s U.S. size and that is your girl’s size).I found these little girl shoes on clearance for $10. Let the strass experiment begin!before strassdiy pearl strass in progress

First to go was the little cutesy hear buckle on the front.  I replaced it with a green and pearl brooch. Then E-6000 glue, a little gem setter (stick with a wax ball on the end) and paper plate full of different size pearl flat backs (2, 3, 4, 5, & 8mm rounds, a few oblongs, and some rhinestones 4-6mm). Overall, it took about 2000 flat backs and 1 tube of glue to do these size 6 (girls size 4) shoes.

DIY pearl strass shoes diy pearl strass shoes 2DIY pearl strass shoes 42013-07-22 12.57.59

So comfortable and my first pair of really, really special shoes.  I wish I was a better photographer so it would show how sparkly they are.

SUPPLIES:

Shoes (preferably not patent leather)

Flat backs in various styles and sizes to your preference

Skewer (or small pointy stick) to adjust/move flat backs around

E-6000 glue

Gem setter (or a stick with some dried glue on the end for picking up the flat backs from a tray/plate).

DIY pearl strass shoes 3

One thought on “Shoes, Strass & Pearls

Leave a Reply

