Literally Tying the Knot

Hand Fasting Cords and Ribbon

As our Save the Dates state, we will be tying the knot with a hand fasting ceremony. Making our ropes/ribbon was a fun project, easy, and inexpensive.hand fasting rope ribbonshand fasting cords ribbon

From the notions department of my favorite craft & sewing store, I selected two cords, one in green the other in ivory, and purchased 1.5 yards (if you want a traditional 3 wrap with a knot, you’ll need 3 yards).  I also bought two small tassels and hand stitched in some green crystals.  I wrapped the two cords together and taped the ends to hold them in the twisted shape.

Next was the bling.  One small silver ribbon and one in black cut about 2 feet longer than the cords. Starting about one foot in, I strung pearls on the black ribbon  at roughly every 4 inches (with knots to hold them in place) and about every 5″ I strung crystals on the silver. Both of these ribbons were then wrapped & twisted around the cords, with more tape at the end to hold them in place.

I attached the tassels on either end (more tape), and then used wired ribbon wrapped around the end to cover the tape.  It looked a little “bare” to me, so I beaded in some pearls on the end as well, stringing about 3 and then a stitch to hold them in place.

I knotted an extra black & silver ribbon onto the tail and then braided them, and then a few green, crystal, and silver beads to finish it off.  I wish my photos could capture the sparkle.

I’m sure there was an easier way, but I just made it up as I went along.

Save the Date

diy save the date

We debated on the need for these, but realized that with almost half of our guest out of state/country, it would be a good idea to send them some advance notice.  Cost is always a factor, so I borrowed the “knot tying” idea from others’ posts and looked at this video tutorial.

The cards are 4″ by 3.3″, which allowed 3 cards per sheet of 8.5×11 card stock.  I created the cards on my iMac in Pages, but have created a Word and PDF template if you wish to use the design (please note that Word changes some of the formatting/shadows on the letters, so you may need to adjust).

Card outside template:

save the date generic template outside PDF

save the date generic template outside WORD

Card inside template:

save the date generic template inside PDF

save the date generic template inside WORD

Print onto cardstock using double sided printing (or do it manually).  I used a laser printer for a sharper image. Cut out your cards (2 cuts using a paper cutter).

Before adding the string, stamp or embellish your card.  I just added a few stamps with silver ink on the front and trimmed the corners with a punch.

From the picture, you can see where to position the hole punch.  Cut the ribbon/string about 4-5″ longer than the entire length of the card.  Knot one end, thread through the  front hole, tie a loose knot (add the rings if you like inside the loose knot), thread through the back hole and knot off.  Cut off any excess.  Test it out and make adjustments. Also, if you use ribbon, lightly sear the ends with  a flame to prevent fraying.

Done.

These cards will fit easily in a 3.5 x 5 inch envelope and require typical postage.

6 thoughts on “Literally Tying the Knot

  1. Pingback: Paper Time (part 1) | Crafty Wedding

  2. Hmm it seems like your website ate my first comment
    (it was super long) so I guess I’ll just sum it up what I
    submitted and say, I’m thoroughly enjoying your blog. I
    as well am an aspiring blog writer but I’m still new
    to the whole thing. Do you have any suggestions for inexperienced blog writers?

    I’d genuinely appreciate it.

  3. The idea is great, but how do you customize the template? Seems the word document is skewed whenever a change is made to the outside template. The inside template doesn’t allow any editing.

Leave a Reply

