Me vs. Paper Flowers (my niece is getting married)

My niece is getting married and I am delving into the world of paper flowers as shower, wedding, and reception decor.

The advantage of paper flowers is how much in advance you can make and arrange them. Plus the uber low cost is awesome. The wedding is in mid-April. I’m hosting her shower one week before the wedding (to accommodate out of town guests) and will be a “bridal tea” theme. Lots of flowers, ladies with hats, small crustless sandwiches.

My goal, under my niece’s approval, is to create decorations for the shower that can also serve as wedding ceremony and reception pieces. Triple duty paper flowers in her colors of yellow and blue.

I was inspired by these DIY online tutorials:

And then I saw this centerpiece with real flowers:

{insert picture of final centerpiece when finished 🙂 }

Centerpiece (entire project)

General Supplies

One thing I have is branches. They are all over my yard. Paper? Check. Crepe paper streamers are $1 for two rolls at the dollar store. I still haven’t worked out the vessel (vases) just yet, but I’m thinking…

Time Commitment:

It takes about 2 minutes per flower –start to finish.

Purple Pig Rating:

8 oinks out of 10.  It is really easy, but can get tedious if making a whole bunch.  Best to break up into mini flower making sessions.  I manage to get glue everywhere, including my hair, so the messy factor is good.  Very cheap.

Individual Flower Tutorials

Crepe Paper Streamer Flowers: 

20120203-094411.jpg


20120202-084119.jpg

20120202-084129.jpg

20120203-094400.jpg

2 thoughts on “Me vs. Paper Flowers (my niece is getting married)

  1. how did you make them? they’re beautiful! I’ve been making paper flowers too using tissue paper and napkins. Would love to know how you made these 🙂

Leave a comment