The Little Ones

I haven’t posted in a while.  Most of my DIY is done.  After all, I had a year and a half!

The past month has been filled with sending invitations, attending parties, and taking care of last minute details. Most of the gifts for the wedding party have been purchased/made, but I still needed gifts for the little members: two flower girls and our ring bearer.  They are all very young, ranging from 2.5 to 4 years old.  We purchased three small silver frames for their picture at the wedding as a keepsake.  But what 3 year old wants a photo frame?

I decided to go with activity totes, personalized for each child.  A gift, and something to keep them occupied and entertained at a nearly 100% adult wedding.

 

children's totes wedding gift

 

I had these black ones left over from my Vegas bachelorette (fun!) and used my Silhouette machine and smooth heat transfer material for the names and flower/car.  For the flower girls, I also glued on some fabric flowers for a little extra fun.

I filled the totes with the usual suspects, coloring book, crayons, stuffed animal, and some toys.

flower girl gift totering bearer gift

 

But what was so fun was making the little personalized coloring “books” for them.

flower girl ring bearer gift 2

 

I just used free-use clip art, some fun fonts, and my regular word processing program (Pages).  They are printed on standard 8.5″x11″ copy paper.  I quickly painted a piece of cardboard for the back (they may need something sturdy in which to color) and bound each with a piece of 3″ fabric folded over the top and eyelets to hold the whole thing together.  The ribbon is just decoration.

The books are 12 pages and each one is personalized with their name and a little story (sort of).

ring bearer coloring bookring bearer coloring book 22014-05-11 21.08.012014-05-11 21.08.34

flower girl coloring bookflower girl coloring book 2flower girl coloring book 3flower girl coloring book 4

 

They took maybe an hour to make all three.  Each one is unique and I tried to keep them “age appropriate” with words and story.  I can’t wait to see them scribble all over them!

Here is a link to the files in PDF form.  If you don’t have a PDF editor to change the names, you can simply put a text/caption box over them in your photo editor.

flower girl coloring book 1

flower girl coloring book 2ring

bearer flower girl coloring books

Happy gifting!

One thought on “The Little Ones

  1. Pingback: The Results: Part One | Crafty Wedding

Leave a comment